October 17, 2012

Team OWL Review: Eragon

Today I have a great review by one of my 7th grade students! She's reviewing a book I haven't read yet - Eragon!

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

This book starts out with the main character, Eragon, hunting in The Spine, a supposedly haunted mountain range. He discovers a polished blue egg which delivers a dragon hatchling. Eragon soon realizes he has stumbled upon a legacy nearly as old as the Empire itself. With only an ancient sword and the guidance of an old story-teller, Eragon and the fledgling dragon must navigate the dangerous terrain and dark enemies of an Empire ruled by a king whose evil knows no bounds. As he travels throughout the world of Alagaesia, he meets adversaries and comes ever closer to the enemy…

This book was beautiful. It will captivate readers who loved The Lord of the Rings and Harry Potter. Paolini illustrates a whole new world in which I would love to live in. There are so many reasons why this book is a wonderful piece of literature. His words make Eragon’s world come alive and are vivid in your mind. This book will keep you burning the midnight oil to finish.

The plot is that Eragon is the last Dragon Rider and he must make a dangerous choice, whether to serve evil or defeat it. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. The setting is in medieval times where there is an tyrant king who rules all of Alagaesia. All of the magical beings are in hiding from him. A group of rebels called the Varden wants Eragon to join them and fight with him and he has to make that choice.

I think that Christopher Paolini chose Eragon to be the main character because in the beginning, Eragon doesn’t believe himself to be special. When the dragon hatches, he wonders why it had chose him to be its Rider. As the story progresses, he grows stronger and believes in himself more. He wasn’t incredibly confident in the beginning. That is how most people are when they face a new, unfamiliar situation. He is not an immediate hero. Though, he becomes one.

The age range I think it’s best for is about 11 and up because there are battles and Paolini has a wide and advanced vocabulary in the book. Though, if a younger student would want to read it they definitely should. It is also a boy and girl book, anyone can read it. Even though, it may look long and hard it is most definitely worth the time to read.

Next time you go to a bookstore or a library, make sure to look for a copy of Eragon!


  1. Great review. I went to a book signing with Christopher Paolini when book 2 came out and was amazed at all the kids who are fans of his books.

  2. Great review - this one is on my shelf but I haven't read it yet!