November 23, 2010

Review and Giveaway: Ook and Gluk

Title: Ook and Gluk
Author: Dav Pilkey

About the Book
In this all-new graphic novel, George Beard and Harold Hutchins present the sensational saga of two silly caveboys named Ook and Gluk. Ook and Gluk have a pretty awesome life growing up together in Caveland, Ohio, in 500,001 BC—even though they’re always getting in trouble with their nasty leader, Big Chief Goppernopper. But Ook and Gluk’s idyllic life takes a turn for the terrible when an evil corporation from the future invades their quiet, prehistoric town. When Ook, Gluk, and their little dinosaur pal, Lily, are pulled through a time portal to the year 2222 AD, they discover that the world of the future is even worse than the devastated one they came from. Fortunately, they find a friend in Master Wong, a martial arts instructor who trains them in the ways of kung fu, so that they may one day return home and make things right again. And, like the other Captain Underpants books, The Adventures of Ook and Gluk, Kung-Fu Cavemen from the Future features the world’s cheesiest animation technology, “Flip-O-Rama,” in every chapter.

Check out the trailer too!

My Thoughts
As a mother of a "nonreader" 9 year old boy I'm always on the look out for something he'll want to read.  He loves the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books, so when I saw this one was a graphic novel I thought it might be a great fit.  Personally I giggled my way through the story.  Once again I was reading it while my students were working on an assignment.  I burst out laughing at this scene with billboards being blasted in half.  Of course they all wanted to know what was going on and see for themselves.  Many of them read the Captain Underpants books, so they knew the kind of humor the book had.  That was the scene I showed to my son, and he took off with he book!  What I liked is that it told a story.  So many parents worry that graphic novels are inferior books because they have so many pictures - that they are "just" comic books.  I didn't find that with this book.  The story was entertaining, the language wasn't simple and reading skills like inferring are practiced by using the pictures to grasp the whole story.

My one concern - the main characters are cavemen, so to keep with that they used many misspelled words.  My son has issues with spelling, so I worry that would confuse him. It's a minor concern but one still.

Final thought: Funny, fun book with a cute story

Now if you want your own copy plus more check out this great giveaway from Scholastic!

Give the gift of reading to your child this holiday season! Scholastic books make the perfect stocking stuffer for any child on your list.

We have a HUGE prize pack filled with the most popular children’s books in the marketplace to offer one lucky reader!
Titles include

Isn't this a fantastic giveaway pack!

Go to the Scholastic Store to find even more great books!

To enter fill out the form. 
Ends Tuesday Dec 7th midnight CST
Must be a US resident


1 comment:

  1. Great review! I just checked to make sure my library has this series and and do so now I have another great readalike for Wimpy Kid.